Surfrider Foundation Rhode Island Chapter

Blue Water Task Force

Rhode Island Surfrider Foundation’s Blue Water Task Force collects water samples for bacterial analysis on a monthly basis year round. Volunteers collect samples from fifteen popular recreational areas throughout Rhode Island. Once collected, samples are sent to the University of Rhode Island’s Watershed Watch laboratory, where they are analyzed for Fecal Coliform and Enterococcus bacteria.  Why collect water samples?  Find out What’s in the Water.

Data collected through this program is used to determine pollution patterns and to inform local citizens and officials about the water quality of the Rhode Island coastline. Water quality results are available on the Rhode Island Surfrider Foundation website, Rhode Island Department of Health website, National Surfrider Foundation website and at local surf shops.

Because of the generous support provided by the Forrest and Frances Lattner Foundation, Rhode Island Surfrider has been able to expand its testing range and frequency over the last several years. On a larger scale, Rhode Island Surfrider Foundation hopes to gain support from local and state officials to eventually make the government monitor water quality year round to protect public health.

Program Goals
With an eye always towards the health of our coastlines, the goals of the Rhode Island Surfrider Foundation Blue Water Task Force are to:

  • Identify pollution patterns and risks along Rhode Island’s coastline
  • Educate citizens about coastal water quality issues
  • Gain state and national support for year-round water quality testing and monitoring

How to Help
Want to get your feet wet? Rhode Island Surfrider Foundation’s Blue Water Task Force is always looking for volunteers to help collect water samples. No experience is necessary! For more information, contact Phil Chiaradio at

Rhode Island Blue Water Task Force Historical Results

Blue Water Task Force Results 2012

Blue Water Task Force Results 2011

Blue Water Task Force Results 2009